This morning I went to Panera.  I haven’t slept well lately and needed coffee to put some life into my blood.  I managed to to eek out a smile at the girl behind the counter who was ready to take my order.  Her hair was dyed purple and she sported a lip ring and a smile. When she saw that I had a book, she asked me what I was reading.  I told her that the book was God’s Call by Brother Andrew and that it was about a guy who smuggled Bibles into countries that do not like Christians.  She seemed nice enough and so I told her one brief story from the book followed by a statement about how Bible smuggling actually turns out to be a pretty exciting occupation.  Then she asked me, “Are you a Bible smuggler?”  “No, I sell homes,” I replied.  “That’s very different from Bible smuggling,” she replied.  She was very sharp.   So after I drank a cup of coffee and read for a while, I decided to take a step of faith.  I walked over to the counter and bought a paper as a ploy to talk to her again.  After she handed me my change, I handed her the book.  She tried to refuse it claiming that she doesn’t believe in God.  But we settled on her taking the book with the assumption that I will come back in a few days to pick it up.  I hope she reads it.  If you think about it then please pray that she will.
\n

 

\n

I realize that this e-mail is probably much longer than you expected.  I should also pass along how much of an impact you had on some of Erica\’s family.  They were blown away by your desire to serve at the reception.  You have been referred to as "Super Usher" by Erica\’s sisters and I think Erica\’s cousin is ready to date you.  But I know none of this was your motivation.  And I am challenged in my desire to serve by watching the Lord at work in your life.  Thank you.\n

\n

 

\n

Much Love,

\n

Josh

\n

 

\n

How can I pray for you this week?